Who Blocked Me on Twitter? (Complete Guide in 2020)

Getting blocked by someone is often an annoying experience. Things can worsen if this happens on a platform like Twitter, which is one of the most engaging social media platforms.

So if you are looking for answers to the question, “Who blocked me on Twitter,” you’re in the right place? In this post, we’re going to explain all the methods for you to check if you’re blocked by someone on the platform.
Let’s get started…

How to Find out who Blocked you on Twitter

First, there are no specific ways to find who blocked you on Twitter. But you can investigate the individual accounts if you doubt that someone has blocked you on the platform.

Follow these steps to find out if you’re blocked from a particular account:

  • Launch Twitter either on a web browser or on the app.
  • Search for the profile that you think might have blocked you.
  • If that account blocks you, you will not be able to visit their profile. Twitter will display a message clearly stating that You’re Blocked.
Who Blocked Me on Twitter

The problem here is that you will not receive a notification or alert when someone blocks you on Twitter. The only way to find that is to look into the account and check if you have been blocked.

So, other than digging into the accounts of the people you suspect to have blocked you, there is no way to get a list of accounts that have blocked you on Twitter.

What is Blocking on Twitter?

Blocking on Twitter means you are placed in a virtual penalty jail. After you block someone, Twitter does not allow that person to visit your profile, or communicate with you through tweet replies or messages.

When an account blocks you, you will not be able to visit the profile or view any content posted by them. You will also not be able to tag them in your posts, photos, videos, or any other content. The posts and the content they post will not be visible in your timeline, either. Their tweets won’t even appear in your search results.

So, you will be completely blocked out of the person’s profile who has blocked you.

Just in case you want to know how blocking works on Twitter, or better still, how you can block someone, you can do so from the profile of the person you want to block.

Here’s how you can block an account on Twitter:

  • Navigate to the profile of the person you want to block.
  • Locate the three dots next to Follow/Following.
  • Locate the option Block @username and click on it.
How to Block someone on Twitter

That’s it. You have successfully blocked the person or the profile in question.

Now, what happens when someone blocks you on Twitter?

  • You can tweet to them, but they will get an alert indicating that they have tweets pending to them from you.
  • You would not see their tweets on your timeline.
  • You will not be able to see each other’s replies in a conversation.
  • You cannot find their tweets under any hashtags even when they are using hashtags extensively.
  • They will not be able to see the retweets of your tweets.
  • You will not be able to send Direct Messages to each other.

So, when someone blocks you, the entire existence of your Twitter life is erased from their Twitter account.

Does Twitter Notify You When You Get Blocked?

Twitter has kept the concept of blocking a sneaky option. The main purpose of blocking someone is to avoid unwanted altercations between the two profiles, and Twitter wants to keep it as stealthy as possible.

That is why Twitter does not send any notification or alert when someone blocks you.

Similarly, when you block someone on Twitter, the person you blocked will not get any alert to indicate that they have been blocked. Unless you get suspicious and try investigating the person’s profile, you will not find who blocked you on Twitter.

While Twitter itself may not send you alerts and notifications, you can perhaps find how many people have blocked you on Twitter through third-party apps.

One such tool that can be helpful in this context can be Blolook.

The service does let you know the number of Twitter accounts that are blocking you. But it only shows the number of accounts and not the actual names or usernames of those accounts.

Can you get a list of the people who have blocked you on Twitter?

Twitter has always been a discreet platform and values the privacy of its users. That is why there is no way you can get a list of the people who have blocked you on Twitter.

You are likely to come across several websites, tools, and apps that promise to do that for you and share the list of people who have blocked you. But, unless Twitter provides a native feature or API compatibility, no app or tool can scrape the information.

The Closing Thoughts

There is practically no way you can find who blocked you on Twitter.

The only option you have at your disposal is to dig into the profile of users you suspect of blocking you. If the concerned profile blocks you, Twitter will let you know. If the particular profile doesn’t block you, you need to repeat the process with another profile.

Do not fall prey to the apps and tools that promise you to find who blocked you on Twitter. It is practically impossible until Twitter comes with the feature, and we strongly doubt the possibility of Twitter making it possible.

FAQs

Who blocked me on the Twitter app?

If you are trying to see who blocked you on Twitter, there is no way you can find it. Twitter does not send you any notification for this, and the only way you can discover if someone blocked you on Twitter would be to check the profile of the person you suspect to have blocked you. If you are blocked, you will get a message that the concerned profile is blocking you.

Is there a way to see who blocked me on Twitter?

No. Twitter intends to make the concept of blocking an account or a profile as discreet as possible. So, there is no way you can find who blocked you on Twitter. Of course, several tools and apps promise to do that but note that Twitter has authenticated no apps to notify the users that someone has blocked them.

How to view blocked Twitter accounts?

If you want to view the accounts that you have blocked, Twitter lets you do that. You can find details about the Twitter accounts blocked by you in your account’s privacy and security settings.

By |2020-10-27T13:16:26+00:00October 27th, 2020|Uncategorized|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment